! Important: After a group is deleted, its name cannot be reused (unless someone specifically contacts Groups.io Support and asks to be able to use the name again). If you think you might want to use that group name again or make it available for others to use, rename the group to some nonsense name before you delete it. Exception: The name of a deleted subgroup can be reused. There might be a short delay until that name is available again.
To delete a group or subgroup:
- Desktop browser: In the left menu on the group’s website, select Admin > Preferences > Settings.
Mobile device: At the bottom of a group page, tap the More icon, then select Admin > Preferences > Settings on the More menu. - Scroll to the bottom of the Settings page.
- Look for and click or tap the red Delete Group button (in a desktop browser, it is at the far right). The Delete Group page appears.
- Review the red warning banner that asks whether you are sure you want to delete the group and displays a notice that the action cannot be undone.
- If you are certain you want to delete the group, click or tap the red Delete Group button under the red warning banner. A Verify Delete popup appears.
- Complete the Verify Delete popup:
- In the first text field, enter any feedback for Groups.io, if desired. (This field is optional.)
- In the second text field, enter the words I understand.
- Click or tap the red Yes button. The group is deleted.
Updated: September 21, 2026
More Options
More
2FA
account settings
accounts
activity log
albums
aliases
analytics
Android app
API
app
attachments
badges
banning
billing
bouncing
calendars
chats
cover photo
credit card on file
CSV files
dark mode
databases
date format
delivery history
digests
direct add
directory
donations
downgrading
downloading
email address
Emailed Photos album
Enterprise groups
events
exporting
extra member data
FAQ
files
folders
footers
GitHub
groups
Groups.io mail servers
guidelines
hashtags
home pages
HTML editor
integrations
iOS app
IP addresses
items per page
JSON files
keyboard shortcuts
language preference
locking
logging in
Markdown editor
member labels
member list
members
messages
mobile app
moderation settings
moderators
notices
notifications
owners
passkeys
passwords
past members
payers
photos
polls
privacy settings
private groups
profiles
public groups
reposting messages
sessions
signatures
Slack synchronization
social logins
spam control settings
spam reported message
special notices
sponsorships
storage space
subgroups
subscriptions
summaries
Tapbacks
text editor
threading
timezone
topics
two-factor authentication
unlocking
upgrading
username
videos
visibility
web/app notifications
wikis
Terms